Chairperson, National League for Democracy and UNAIDS Global Advocate for Zero Discrimination

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi is one of the founding members and current chairperson of the National League for Democracy (NLD) in Myanmar.

In November 2012, she accepted the role of UNAIDS Global Advocate for Zero Discrimination, for which she will advocate for the elimination of stigma and discrimination. She is especially concerned that stigma and discrimination create an environment of fear that prevents people from accessing lifesaving HIV services.

Elected to the Myanmar parliament in 2012, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi chairs the Rule of Law and Tranquility Committee in Pyithu Hluttaw and the Committees for Reinvigoration of Rangoon General Hospital and Rangoon University. One of the world’s most renowned human rights activists, she has dedicated much of her life to democracy, dignity and human rights. She spent decades under house arrest before being freed in 2010.

Citing her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights, the Nobel Committee awarded Daw Aung San Suu Kyi the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991. In 2012, she was awarded the title of Commander of the French Légion d’honneur. She has received more than 130 awards and honours from around the world, including the Sakharov Freedom of Thought award from the European Parliament (1991), the Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding by the Government of India (1993), the Companion of the Order of Australia by the Australian government (1996) and the US Congressional Gold Medal (2008).

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi holds degrees from the University of Delhi, St Hugh’s College at Oxford, and the University of London.